AllHorseStuff

Juliane Dykiel's Horsemanship Blog

Issue at Hand: The Soring of Tennessee Walker Horses

By Juliane Dykiel

Tennesse Walkers

Tennessee Walker Horses In Competition

Over the past couple of years, I’ve heard of more and more people taking an interest in rescuing horses. It seems that animal cruelty is being put under an even brighter spot light, and people are working together to increase awareness and to promote change.

Among the countless abuses that horses throughout the world are currently experiencing is the soring of Tennessee Walker Horses. I’ve just learned about this issue and it’s horrifying me and I can’t sleep, which is why I’m up at midnight writing this blog even though I have to get up early tomorrow.

This video pretty much sums up what these horses are going through.

http://news.yahoo.com/video/us-15749625/torture-of-tennessee-walking-horses-29324890.html

If you don’t want to watch the whole video, or can’t, I’ll try to sum it up for you. Tennessee Walkers are often prized for movements that don’t always come naturally to them. Some trainers use “soring,” creating pain on the horses’ front legs using both prolonged exposure to chemicals and consistent beating. Some horses are ridden with heavy metal chains that hurt them when they move, causing a “flinch.”

If you watch the Yahoo News video you’ll see the effects that these measures have on the horses, and the horrible beatings that, at the hands of one specific trainer, these horses got as a result.

One study in the video showed that this is present in a lot of horses that are competing. This has been happening for years. It seems that horses that have been trained “properly” don’t do as well in competitions, and therefore don’t win the big prizes, usually huge sums of money. This increases the motivation to “sore” these horses’ front legs.

But I can’t imagine this being a proper justification. And in fact, I don’t know too much about the breed, or the “proper,” humane methods that exist to train them. So if you’re in the business, please contact me so that we may continue educating people. Perhaps we can write a blog about this.

In the meantime, let’s try to put a stop to soring. You can sign this online petition: http://www.thepetitionsite.com/190/457/083/end-the-abuse-soring-corruption-in-the-tennessee-walking-horse-breed/

Or write to your congressman or woman. Or simply spread this around to everyone you know who has a heart.

Luckily, some organizations have been started to address these issues. You can support them. One of them is FOSH – Friends of Sound Horses: http://www.fosh.info/

AllHorseStuff has recently started a rescue project, so if you know of anyone who has rescued a horse from this situation and needs to find it a new home, you can advertise it for free on our website. You can contact me about this at juliane@allhorsestuff.com.

Thanks for reading!

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “Issue at Hand: The Soring of Tennessee Walker Horses

  1. Reblogged this on Horse Crazy and commented:
    When I read this, I didn’t know what to say about it…so I decided to reblog… 😦

  2. Pingback: Tennesee Walker Horse soring awareness

  3. Shopping for cars is generally a stressful experience.
    It does not have to be, though. With a little knowledge and determination, your car shopping
    experience can be devoid of stress. Use the tips that follow to make your car shopping experience one that you enjoy, with a shiny new car to show for it.

  4. This paragraph is really a pleasant one it assists new web viewers, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  5. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  6. Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful post. Many thanks for supplying
    this info.

  7. This web site certainly has all the information I needed
    concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  8. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thank you

  9. Ϻy brother recommended I miǥht like this web site.
    He was totally riǥht. This post actually made my day.
    You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

  10. I thinқ this is amonǥ the most important info for me.
    And і am ǥlad reading your article. But want to remarк oո some general things, The web site style іs ideal, the articles is really great :
    D. Good job, cheers

  11. Very good post. I certainly appreciate this website.
    Thanks!

  12. Wow, wonderful weblog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for?

    you made running a blog glance easy. The whole look of your web site is wonderful, let
    alone the content!

  13. This company has no problems with people setting up web sites devoted to promoting affiliate products.

    Without the original Night of the Living Dead, the zombie genre of
    films would not be what they are today:. Animation has always struck a chord with viewers,
    and with the incorporation of high-end technology into this genre of entertainment, it seems that there’s no looking back.

  14. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always exciting to read through articles from other writers and use something from other websites.

  15. Heya questo è un po ‘ off topic ma mi chiedevo se i blog usare
    editor WYSIWYG o se dovete manualmente il codice con HTML .
    Sto iniziando un blog presto, ma non hanno alcuna esperienza di codifica così ho voluto ottenere la guida di qualcuno con esperienza
    . Qualsiasi aiuto sarebbe molto apprezzato !

  16. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact
    was once a amusement account it. Glance complex to more introduced agreeable from you!

    However, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  17. I am truly glad to read this website posts which consists of
    plenty of helpful data, thanks for providing such information.

  18. I think the admin of this web site is in fact working hard
    for his web page, because here every stuff is quality based stuff.

  19. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on
    websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always helpful to read
    through articles from other writers and use a little something from other web sites.

  20. If some one desires expert view concerning blogging then i suggest him/her to pay a quick visit this website, Keep up the fastidious
    work.

  21. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  22. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more,
    thanks for the info!

  23. I acquired more new things on this weight-loss issue.
    One particular issue is a good nutrition is especially vital any time dieting.

    A huge reduction in fast foods, sugary meals, fried foods, sweet foods, red meat, and white flour products could
    be necessary. Keeping wastes unwanted organisms, and toxic compounds
    may prevent aims for shedding fat. While certain drugs temporarily solve the problem, the awful side effects are
    not worth it, plus they never supply more than a momentary solution. It
    is a known proven fact that 95% of diet plans fail. Thanks for
    sharing your thinking on this web site.

  24. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.

    I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome blog!

  25. Hi, I do think this is an excellent blog.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return yet again since I bookmarked
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and
    continue to help others.

  26. This is a tactic of elevating your firm above the competition. With criteria “Customers is King”, we always try my best to work well
    so that we can give the best coupons and deals to stretch
    your shopping dollar during both these tough economic times and stable times.
    Atlanta, GA is the hot spot for local up and coming talent and for visiting entrepreneurs.

  27. {افضل شركة تنظيف بيوت بجدة on said:

    I have read so many posts about the blogger lovers but this post is really a fastidious post,
    keep it up.

  28. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for
    this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because
    I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

