AllHorseStuff

Juliane Dykiel's Horsemanship Blog

My Upcoming Adventure in the Extreme Mustang Makeover

Adventures

Hi everyone, Juliane here.

I just wanted to update everyone on the transfer of this blog from AllHorseStuff informational articles to updates about from my journey in the Extreme Mustang Makeover.

My posts will still be heavily horse training-related, now based on my actual most recent experiences.

I hope you will continue to follow this blog.

Here are some details about the competition. If you prefer to watch the video my student Katie & I created, click here.

On April 10th, 2015, a couple dozen local trainers, including myself, will pick up a wild, untouched, mustang mare from Orange, MA. We will all have 100 days to tame and train this horse, then show off the results on August 7&8 in Topsfield, MA.

We have decided to call my mare Rocio, even though we do not know anything about her yet. The horses will be randomly assigned to the each trainer. She will be staying at Windflower Farm in Acton MA, where I grew up riding under the guidance of Ainslie Sheridan.

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m AllHorseStuff founder Hadrien’s sister. I’ve been learning natural horsemanship since I was 9 and have had the privilege of working with some wonderful, challenging horses. I’m now 20 years old, about to graduate college, and hoping to turn my freelance horse training business into a career.

I focus both on green horses and on older horses with particular behavioral issues. I’m an advocate of rescuing horses and seek to promote rescues such as Save Your Ass Long Ear Rescue, Beech Brook Farm Equine Rescue, and Connecticut Draft Horse Rescue. Over time, I’ve become passionate about dressage, although I still teach and ride as many other disciplines as I’m able to explore.

An example of my natural horsemanship work. Photo taken by Julia Deraska.

An example of my natural horsemanship work. Photo taken by Julia Deraska.

Tica & me competing, suummer 2014. Photo taken by Izzy Bisese.

Tica & me competing, suummer 2014. Photo taken by Izzy Bisese.

In order to make this adventure possible, I need to raise some money to help care for Rocio during the time that she is here. I am a college student and it will be challenging for me to afford an additional horse while I finish up school. In order to do this, we have started a GoFundMe account here. Every dollar counts. If you donate, I hope you follow this blog so that you will eventually see the value of your contribution.

You can also like our Facebook page here.

I hope that you enjoy reading about this adventure!

Thanks for reading!

Thanks for reading!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

